No bake Hazelnut chocolate cake.(baci cake)


For years I have made this delicious,no bake cake. I only remember a time in Malta ,when I had to prepare a birthday cake for my sister and had forgotten to order a cylinder of gas…no gas ,no oven (no town gas then ).So I decided to make this super cake,minus the liquor,of course and looked like a superstar. oh, in case I forgot to mention,its eggless!!!

18 oz crushed roasted Hazlenuts

10 oz semi sweet chocolate

12-13 oz plain tea cookies,crushed

3 oz super fine sugar

71/2 oz mixed dried fruit(optional)

1 teaspoon almond essence

3 tablespoons brandy

1/2 cup Nutella ,for topping

8-10 whole roasted hazelnuts for decoration

Melt chocolate in a double boiler or microwave. Start adding the crushed cookies in 3 batches to the melted chocolate,make sure that all crumbs are incorporated into the chocolate.

Add the chopped hazelnuts,sugar,almond and vanilla essence, whisky and candied peel.

Lightly spray a 6 inch dish(pam for baking is great, DO NOT OVER SPRAY). Place the mixture in and lightly tap the pan to set the batter.

Allow the cake to set,refridgerated for a few hours or overnight.

Unmold the cake and top with the Nutella and whole roasted Hazelnuts.

10 Responses

  1. Wow, that sounds very interesting. I’m bookmarking this one.

  2. a no-bake hazelnut cake, and its eggless – how cool is that!! 🙂 thanks for putting up this awesome recipe 🙂

  3. Hi,
    I tried this lycake and the taste is delicious. However, I encountered a problem and was wondering whether someone could help me resolve it. Basically, the cake didn’t consolidate. Anyone knows what I did wrong?
    Thanks in advance
    Dorothy

    • I am not sure why you ran into this problem , so sorry to hear that . Did you add too much cookie crumbs? Next time try adding more liquid or perhaps a little more Nutella till you get the desired consistency .
      Hope I was of help.
      Val

  4. i am going to try this recipe for Christmas
    .I am sure it taste good.

  5. Do I have to use some milk as it is so crumby.

  6. I tried it last Sunday but it is crumbling a lot. When doing it I saw it was too dry so I melted 150gr more chocolate but still it was too dry. Will consider adding some condensed milk next time.

    • Sorry you experienced problems.Next time try using less cookies.Start with 3/4 the amount,you can always add if the mixture is too wet.Also,I am not a fan of uncooked condensed milk.Try a dark chocolate ganache made with half a cup of hot heavy cream and 4 ounces dark chocolate. I am sure this will remedy the situation.Do keep me posted.

Leave a Reply

